Stradivarius' secret was inside!

Two Belgians lift the veil on the mystery of the structure of the Stradivarius.

This research is to appear in The Strad Magazine February 2022.

Figure 3.jpeg

           The interior volume of the violin is, literally, built in “perfect chord”!

Yes, it's not just varnishes! André THEUNIS is a luthier in Brussels, trained at the school of Mittenwald, and passed by the prestigious house “WE Hill & Sons” in England.

Alexandre WAJNBERG is a musician and scientific journalist from the ULB (Team-Sciences RTBF, Radio Campus). Together, they publish an original research allowing to understand the structure of the Stradivarius and the violins of the Cremonese family, the Amati, the Guarnerius.

 

The design and proportions of the violins remain a mystery. How is it that from its birth, the violin found the forms that we know, which have hardly changed in four centuries, perfectly adapted to the production of sounds?

 

Complex combinations of circles? Geometry of the Golden section? Root of 2, and other irrational magnitudes?…  There is no shortage of hypotheses, which presuppose elaborate mathematical skills, incompatible with the knowledge of a 17th century craftsman, even from Cremona. So what method could Antonio Stradivari have followed?

 

André Theunis and Alexandre Wajnberg started from the tools and measuring systems in use in Cremona in the 17th century. Noting that the distance between the two saddles - 483 mm - is almost equal to the cremonese unit - the braccio -, the authors sought other dimensions of the violin also expressed in round numbers, or in simple fractions of this unity !

 

And by a counter-intuitive trick - which only a master luthier could imagine - they found the solution in the interior vibratory space of the instrument, in its dimensions measured quite differently than usual, from the molds of Stradivarius preserved in Cremona.

As a result, there is no longer any need to introduce irrational mathematical values to account for the dimensions of violins. The authors' simple and elegant hypothesis is based on the rules of musical proportionality known since Pythagoras. Mathematized in 1558 by Gioseffo Zarlino, they were dominant in the culture of Stradivari's time! Clearly, the rational proportions of the violin are in phase with those of the natural scale, known as Zarlino.

Le secret de Stradivarius était à l’intérieur !

Deux Belges lèvent le voile sur le mystère de la structure des Stradivarius.

Cette recherche est à paraître dans The Strad Magazine de février 2022.

MS21-version 15.jpeg

 Le volume intérieur du violon est, littéralement, construit en « accord parfait » !

Eh oui, il n’y a pas que les vernis ! André THEUNIS est luthier à Bruxelles, formé à l’école de Mittenwald, et passé par la prestigieuse maison “W.E. Hill & Sons” en Angleterre.

Alexandre WAJNBERG est musicien et journaliste scientifique issu de l’ULB (Équipe-Sciences RTBF, Radio Campus). Ensemble, ils publient une recherche originale permettant de comprendre la structure des Stradivarius et des violons de la famille crémonaise, les Amati, les Guarnerius.

 

Le dessin et les proportions des violons demeurent en effet un mystère. Comment se fait-il que dès sa naissance, le violon ait trouvé les formes qu’on lui connaît, qui n’ont quasiment pas bougé en quatre siècles, parfaitement adaptées à la production des sons ?

 

Combinaisons complexes de cercles ? Géométrie de la section d’Or ? Racine de 2, et autres grandeurs irrationnelles ?…  Les hypothèses ne manquent pas, qui supposent des compétences mathématiques élaborées, peu compatibles avec les savoirs d’un artisan du XVIIe siècle, fût-il de Crémone. Alors quelle méthode a bien pu suivre Antonio Stradivari ?

 

André Theunis et Alexandre Wajnberg sont partis des outils et des systèmes de mesure en usage à Crémone au XVIIe siècle. Constatant que la distance entre les deux sillets — 483 mm — est quasi égale à l’unité crémonaise — le braccio —, les auteurs ont recherché d’autres dimensions du violon s’exprimant elles aussi en chiffres ronds, ou en fractions simples de cette unité !

 

Et par une astuce contre-intuitive — que seul un maître-luthier pouvait imaginer —, ils ont trouvé la solution dans l’espace vibratoire intérieur de l’instrument, dans ses dimensions mesurées tout autrement que d’habitude, à partir des moules de Stradivarius conservés à Crémone.

Résultat, il n’est plus besoin de faire intervenir des valeurs mathématiques irrationnelles pour rendre compte des dimensions des violons. L’hypothèse simple et élégante des auteurs se fonde sur les règles de proportionnalités musicales connues depuis Pythagore. Mathématisées en 1558 par Gioseffo Zarlino, elles étaient dominantes dans la culture de l’époque de Stradivari ! En clair, les proportions rationnelles du violon sont en phase avec celles de la gamme naturelle, dite de Zarlino.